Moments of Weakness

We are fairly frugal people.  We drive older cars (no payments), we don’t have cable, we eat dinner at home almost every night, we pay off our credit card each month, I use a pre-paid cell phone, and I buy all of Boos toys and clothes second hand (nd a lot of ours too).  I feel like we are pretty careful and deliberate about spending.  We talk things over together and plan for the long term.

There are times, though, when I feel like deserve a new car, a nice camera or a pimp cell phone.  I look at our friends and family and I want what they have.  Sometimes I wish we weren’t so careful with our money or that we didn’t need to fund our Roths or Boos investment account.  I feel ENVIOUS!

In these moments of weakness, I just try to think about the things I want for us and for Boo and the values that I want to teach him.  I want him to be financially secure throughout his life.  I want him to be able to go to good public schools, so we need to save money for a new house.  I want to be able to take him on vacations, so I need to cut coupons.  I don’t want him to feel ENTITLED, so we give him used toys that are perfectly fun to play with.

I want material things just like anyone else, but I also want to not have to worry about money, so I have a motivation to stay on the path we have chosen.  I still get discouraged from time to time, so I have to remind myself that I have a very comfortable life and I am so lucky to be able to be home with my baby.  I have everything I need.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

