Momputer

Shortly before Thanksgiving our laptop died.  Our old laptop was a hand-me-down from my father-in-law that lived on our kitchen counter, but it had a major flaw – you couldn’t turn it off EVER!  If the battery was drained or it was shut down manually, it would not come back on without some serious massaging.  It was really mean like that.  Whenever my sister would house-sit for us I would leave Post-it notes around saying “PLEASE DON’T TURN OFF!”  …and I didn’t mean that in an Enrique Iglesias way either!

I was the only one in the house who could baby it along and convince it to turn back on (most of the time).  One day, I let the battery get too low (it only took about 20 minutes) and it turned off.  For the life of me, I could not get it to come back.  It had finally given up the ship.

I was totally bummed because since having the baby and turning my old office into a guest room in order to create a nursery, my desktop computer had been dismantled.  We have several other computers in the house, but I am seriously scared of my husband’s computer.  Turning it on involves a trip to the basement, knowledge of home networking, and several remote controls – and that is before you even see the desktop.

So picture me without a computer right before Thanksgiving feeling all sad because I miss my interwebs.  Also, picture me taking one for the frugal team and telling my husband that we didn’t need to replace it right away because I don’t want to spend $$$ on that right now.  So, we decided to wait for a good deal to come up.  At the same time, husband is trying to convince me to go the netbook route and I am all, “Those screens are WAY too small.”

Within a few weeks, the Black Friday sales start being released.  I am all about Target, as some of you know, so I was glued to their sales fliers.  Like most stores, they were trying to push pre-Black Friday sales to get people shopping early.  So, we are sitting at the breakfast table on Sunday morning while I paw through the paper looking at the sale glossies and coupons when I notice that Target has some electronic deals.  So, I dutifully pass the flier to husband in case he is interested and he says to take a look at the netbook on sale.   The sale flier shows an acer ASPIRE ONE on sale for $180 with a bonus free case.  At this point, I am coming around to the idea of a netbook, so I say that we should go take a look.  He says that this is a not-to-be-missed stellar deal, so we better haul our buts over there before they are gone.

Next thing I know, I am being asked to choose between a black case and a purple one and we come home with a new computer.  I still feel badly about how fervently I avoided netbooks because I love my new computer.

Sorry, honey.

Iglesias

One thought on “Momputer

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

