Evolution…of sorts

I am going through something.  I still feel like me, but I feel like I am more in control of my life than any other time before.  I am making better decisions, controlling my emotions, and righting past wrongs.  On the outside it looks like I am changing my wardrobe and redecorating my house, but on the inside I am trying to be a better person, simplify my life, and strengthen my relationships – starting with my marriage.  I have not been good to my husband.  I have not been the considerate, compromising partner that I should have been these past 9 years.  I have been selfish, overly-emotional, and taken him for granted.  I am working everyday to be the partner he deserves.  It isn’t always easy, but it is completely worth it.  Things are going great.  I have purged lots of unnecessary objects,  whittled down my wardrobe to only what I love and wear regularly.  I have committed to not buying new things unless they have a purpose or a pre-planned space.  I have also edited decor items to maximize impact and simplify cleaning.  I have also discovered that I can change out decor items seasonally, or on a whim, to achieve a fresh look without spending money.  There have been lots of other smaller changes too.

There is always room for improvement, so my journey will continue.  It is a great feeling to improve one’s self, especially in a way that can be sustained.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

